Posted by: amandaleigh1231 | February 24, 2013

A Frugal Failure?

One of my favorite days of the week is grocery day.  I love wandering the aisles, searching for the tasiest looking items and, of course, the best values.  My most uttered phrase when it comes to grocery shopping is, “Full price is for suckers!”  If it is not a great value, then it is not a neccessity.  Sadly, my husband does not share the sentiment, and is a horrible impulse shopper.

This past Thursday, I went to my local Giant Eagle.  I only had a few select items (all seasonal or on sale) to purchase, and was looking forward to browsing the items, and taking advantage of a few free samples from their specialt cheese section.  When I reached the seafood selection, I realized that I did not have a meatless meal planned for Friday, since it is Lent.  I texted my husband, asking if he wanted me to get any seafood for Friday.  As soon as I sent it, I knew that I had worded it wrong.  I  should have asked if he wanted some Tilapia (on sale and individually vaccuum sealed to limit waaste).  But no, I had to leave it open to interpretation….

His response was scallops and shrimp to make seafood pasta.  Part of me wanted to say that it was too enxpensive, but Nick rarely asks for anything special other than his favorite brand of coffee.  I would have felt gulity had I pretended not to get the text.  So…I picked up a small amount of the scallops and a two pound bag of jumbo shrimp (since that was a weekly special).  I ended up right at $75, my weekly average, for the trip.  While I did not get to bank any funds for the next time I needed to stock up on pantry supplies, it still wasn’t too horrible.

On Friday, Nick cooked the pasta.  By the time we added some fresh veggies to the mix, it became clear that the shrimp and scallops were going to go a lot farther than I had thought.  We were able to put enough of both into the freezer that I probably won’t have to buy any more fish for the remainder of Lent.  This meal will not go down in the list of the best meals for our budget, but it was not a complete failure.

Nick’s Seafood Pasta

Put a pound of linguine in the pot to cook.  While it is cooking, heat olive oil in a large pan.  When hot, add 2 cloves of crushed garlic and sautee about a minute.  Toss in a few shripmp and scallops and sautee until nearly firm.  Add 2 cups of vegetables of your choice and sautee another 2-3 minutes.  Add 1 can of clams and 1 cup of chicken stock with 1 tablespoon of cornstarch disolved in it.  Bring to boil and simmer about a minute or until the liquid begins to thicken.  Pour over steaming hot pasta.

Leave a Reply

Categories

