Posted by: amandaleigh1231 | March 19, 2013

What’s for lunch?

I’ve often found that answering the question of “What’s for lunch?” to be more challenging than the ever popular, “What’s for dinner?”  I’ve found this to be an issue of planning.  I figure out what I am going to cook for dinner each night once I do my weekly grocery shopping so that I can ensure that nothing goes to waste.  I am much more lackadaisical about lunch (a good goal for next month).

Nick is always happy with leftovers, even if it was last night’s dinner and will be tonight’s as well.  He says that it just feels more like real “meal” than anything else.  I don’t mind including some type of leftover, but I certainly don’t want the same exact thing for three meals straight.  Here are some of my quick, frugal favorite:

  • Field greens topped with leftover chicken, turkey, or ham
  • Pizza Quesadilla – Corn tortilla topped with tomato sauce and cheese, toasted
  • Any type of leftover soup from the freezer
  • Fruit and cheese platter (heavy on the seasonal fruits)
  • Quinoa salad (leftover quinoa salad, veggies of choice, and tossed with homemade vinagrette)

What are your favorite frugal lunches?


Leave a comment

Categories