Posted by: amandaleigh1231 | March 20, 2013

A Tough Month!

I know that I haven’t mentioned it, but I recently lost my job.  I have been applying and interviewing like crazy (yay!), and don’t think that I will be out of work for long, but until then, the money is going to be super tight.  After a review of our finances, we found that we are actually spending a good bit less than we had thought!  Which means that I can take some time to find a career that I will love, rather than just something to pay the bills.  However, it will still be TIGHT.

With that in mind, Nick asked if I thought that I could keep our groceries to about $100-150 per month until I am back to being employed.  I am always up for a challenge, especially a frugal challenge!  With that in mind, I did my grocery shopping today.  With it being so close to a major holiday, there were some massive savings on loss leaders.  I spent $49.80 at Aldi’s (my favorite discount store) and got most of our needs for the next month.  I want to pick up a half ham ($0.69/lb or about $8-9) and a turkey ($1.09 or about $15) from one of the other chains in my area, which will bring my total to about $75 for enough meat and staples for the month.  That leaves up to an extra $75 for produce and milk for the rest of the month.  Given that I already picked up enough for two weeks, I think I am in pretty good shape.  I might even be able to afford a few little splurges!

Leave a Reply

Categories

