Posted by: amandaleigh1231 | March 24, 2013

Cooking with Quinoa

A year ago, I had no clue what quinoa was.  Sure, I had read the name is some healthy cookbooks, but had never searched it out or even tasted it.  I tried it for the first time at a work event where the chef had mad a quinoa stir-fry.  I was hooked – it was fluffy, but with a firm bite.  Unfortunately, I had no clue where to buy quinoa as I had never seen it in the grocery store.

Fast forward six months.  I am browsing the shelves of Sam’s Club and see a good sized bag of quinoa for just under $5.  I snatch it up (photo courtesy of www.earthlychoice.com ):

Image

I’ve picked it up every time it is in stock since then.  I love its versatility!  It can be substituted for pretty much anything that you would use rice for.  Here is one of my favorite quinoa recipes:

Cran-Orange Quinoa

1/2 an onion minced

olive oil

1 cup quinoa

1 cup chicken or vegetable stock

1 cup orange juice

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup walnuts, chopped

cook the onions in oil, just until translucent.  Add quinoa and quick toss with the onions.  Add both stock and juice and bring to a boil.  Stir in cranberries, reduce heat to low (very low to ensure that the sugars from the juice don’t burn), cover and simmer 12-15 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed and quinoa is tender. Remove from heat and stir in walnuts.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

