Posted by: amandaleigh1231 | March 30, 2013

Scones!

I know, I know.  I said that I was going to start trying to follow the anti-inflammation eating plan that I discussed a week or so ago.  I am.  I promise.  I just had some items that I needed to use up so that I wouldn’t be tempted, and I wanted to make some goodies for Easter…Okay, I admit that those are all excuses.  I’ll start in a few days (I really will – I have been researching all kinds of great recipes – paleo, whole grain, and gluten free items) and will create some awesome items to share with all of you.  In the meantime, I made (and ate) scones.

To give credit where it is due, I found a very basic recipe from Alton Brown online:

2 cups four

4 tsp baking powder

1/3 cup sugar

6 Tbl butter (or 4 butter and 2 shortening)

3/4 cup cream

1 egg

Mix the flour, sugar, and baking powder.  Cut in the butter.  Quickly mix in the egg, cream, and any add-ins that you would like.  Pat into 1/2 inch thickness and cut into shapes of your choosing.  Bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes depending upon size of scones.

I added dried cherries and almonds to the dough and topped with a drizzle of almond flavored glaze and a few additional toasted almonds.  They put bakery scones to shame!  The possibilities are endless.  I’m thinking my next batch might be a mixed grain scone with ham and cheese in it – perfect for lunch on the go or with soup for dinner.

Responses

  1. Just to update – my sister-in-law stopped by today. She had one of the scones and loved it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

